August 3, 2011

YMSA Supernational 2011 23/24 July 2011


The Skelderbank track in Whitby was full to bursting this weekend as the YMSA signed on over 300 riders for the 2011 Supernational. The paddock was packed and the track was superbly prepared by John Noble and his team at Whitby MX – thanks guys! With full gates in most classes, riders were ready to get their racing started. The first three races were held on the Saturday and the following two were on the Sunday. Great battles were held by riders as the best four races out of the five counted towards the overall points for the weekend.

The Cadets lined the gate ready to race the shortened Whitby track. Lewis McLeary shot up the start straight to get the first holeshot of the day but Kian Collingwood soon took the lead. Luke Byard rode hard to secure himself third position in race one, followed by Oliver Johnson. Kian continued to ride like a Champ over the weekend as he took all of the chequered flags for the Cadet class. Not too far behind was Lewis, who again had consistent results with second place in each race. However, the battle was on for Oliver, Logan Wilcox and Luke for third position overall. All three riders finished with a mixed set of results but third overall went to Oliver.

Scott Russell was the lad to be in the Junior class as he aced all races and managed to get four out of the five holeshots. Dane Reeves finished in second in three of the weekend’s races, however two lower finishes jeopardised his overall position leaving him with fourth overall. Rhys Upton and Sammy Price had continuous battles over the weekend but it was Rhys who succeeded with higher points to achieve second position overall.

The overall first position in the Small Wheel class went to Brad Malin, who rode fantastically and always had a good lead. Brad relaxed in the final race of the weekend and Will Jeonney took the chequered flag to support his second place finishes in the other races. Luke Reading and Joe Jacques both fought hard for third positions in different races. It was Luke’s second place finish in the final race that allowed him to finish third overall.

Next to ride was the Adult Open C group, which had a full gate all weekend. There was no competition within this class as Rich Thompson rode into the lead in four races. Race five was won by Charlie Devlin. Mick Horne and Gary White swapped positions for second and third but it was Mick Horne who triumphed in second place.

The Big Wheel class had a really mixed set of racing leaving the overall results to be unpredictable! The race one chequered flag was raised for Gradie Featherstone, who was followed by Matty Calaghan and Rob Davidson. Davidson then went on to win the second race followed by Robbie Dowson and Macauley Madden. First position in race three and five went to Matty with Robbie coming in close at second. Race four win went to Rob Davidson. With these mixed results, overall positions went to Matty, Rob then Robbie respectively.

Great starts were made by all Adult Open A riders but Adam Reynolds rocketed up the start straight to take three of the holeshots for the weekend and all race wins. Tom Batty continued the consistent riding to bag himself second place overall. Dale Brockhurst received third overall.

Adult Open B class rider Richard Tindale started the weekend off for this class with the first race victory but then great results from Matt Stroud saw him take top step on the podium. Dave Wardell showed some impressive riding, coming away with second overall. Scott Hedley took the third overall trophy home.

The Senior class was dominated by Sam Winterburn who came out on top with all five race wins. Cole Hunter’s continued good form gave him second overall. Connor Clarke had a great weekend and gained enough points to secure him overall third position.

A big thank you goes out to all who helped run and sponsor the weekend.

Written by Nat Jarvis

Photographs by Lisa Griffiths

Supernational 2011 Results


1. Kian Collingwood 2. Lewis McLeary 3. Oliver Johnson 4. Logan Wilcox 5. Luke Byard 6. Dalton Dring


1. Scott Russell 2. Rhys Upton 3. Sammy Price 4. Dane Reeves 5. Kurtis Griffiths 6. Lewis Hall

Small Wheels

1. Bradley Malin 2. Will Jeonney 3. Luke Reading 4. Joe Jacques 5. Nathan Claughan 6. Dee Jay Walker

Adult Open C’s

1. Rich Thompson 2. Mick Horne 3. Gary White 4. Charlie Devlin 5. James Wren 6. Ian Ramsay

Big Wheels

1. Matty Calaghan 2. Rob Davidson 3. Robbie Dowson 4. Gradie Featherstone 5. Macauley Madden 6. Kurtis Williams

Adult Open A’s

1. Adam Reynolds 2. Thomas Batty 3. Dale Brockhurst 4. Josh Fytche 5. Andy Smart 6. Jim Scrafton

Adult Open B’s

1. Matt Stroud 2. Dave Wardell 3. Scott Hedley 4. Ben Askew 5. Josh Mieszczak 6. Adam Nottingham


1. Sam Winterburn 2. Cole Hunter 3. Connor Clarke 4. Tom Davies 5. Ben Halfpenny 6. Luke Barratt


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *